Why F1t2BaMom

I am not a fitness guru, but I am a mom who enjoys the benefits of working out including increased stamina and energy for those long days involving work and family care. In addition, I did not want to be another mom saying ” I’m this size due to baby weight”.    For ME, this was an unacceptable excuse for to not taking control and responsibility of my health and welfare.

So, during my pregnacny with my BEAUTIFUL son ,  I gained approx 30 lbs, going from 166 to 196. Even at 166, I was 20lbs over the recommended weight for my height. Then after giving birth (a little over a year ago), I begin to work out approx 4 months later, initially weighing in at 186 lbs…down 10lbs…of WATER WEIGHT. From there, I set a goal to lose 40lbs by his 1st birthday. Sadly, I did not meet that goal… not even coming close…losing only 6lbs…and that is with 6 months of working out at least 5 days/wk, 30-45 minutes each day. To be honest, I’d only  lost 3lbs in 5.2 months. What was I doing wrong?! I mean, during and after the birth of my son, I started eating healthier, markedly reducing the amount of fried food and fast food that I ate, increase my water intake and exercised on  a regular, but still, only 3 lbs lost! Then I started journaling my food intake, and found that althougth I changed my eating habits in the fried/fast food category, I had increased my junk food intake with a bag of M&Ms at least 2 times/day….fed the craving, but with EMPTY calories. I also noticed that I was only eating 3 meals a day and not the recommended 6 (3 meals + 3 snacks). So in the last 2 weeks of this 6 months workout period, I kept the same meal routine for breakfast/lunch/dinner AND started incorporating snacks (Planter’s Nut-trition, banana, yogurt, whey shake, etc) in between meals. With working out and MY revised eating plan, I lost 3lbs in 2 weeks! With help and motivation, you can have the same results!

So what does it take to be a F1t2BaMom gal…a willing attitude toward change. Understanding its okay to be a “sexy” mom, to be admired for your physical beauty as well as your nurturing beauty. To know that you are able to balance family life and your individual life’s needs without guilt.

To help you get started, below is a sample 1 day meal/exercise plan that I use as well as resources to help you find your workout starting point. In those resources, you will see that I list a few “social” fitness groups as I’ve found it much easier to continue this healthy lifestyle when I’m able to share and workout with others.

Sample Meal Plan

Breakfast:1 slice wheat toast,1 serving brown sugar oatmeal with slice bananas or 2 tbs of Planters Nut-trition; 8oz of water or Silk Almond Unsweetened

Mid-Morning Snack:Chobani Yogurt w/ 2 tbs of Planters Nut-trition; 8oz water

Lunch: 2 cups Dole salad mix w/ tomatoes, 2 tbs shredded parmesan cheese, italian dressing; 2 baked chx wings or 1 chx breast or any type of soup; 8oz French Vanilla Whey Shake (made with water or Silk Almond Unsweetened)

Mid-Day Snack: Chobani Yogurt w/ 1-2tbs Nut-trition Mix; 8oz Water

Dinner: 2 cups salad (same as above); wild rice; sauteed chx breast; 8-16 oz water

After Dinner Snack: fruit or handful of nut mix

Workout Plan

30-45 minutes treadmill, hill, level 3, 4.6-5 mph speed

Resources:

  1. http://girlneticfitnesssocialclub.com/
  2. http://www.blackgirlsrun.com/
  3. http://www.c25k.com/
  4. http://www.myoptumhealth.com/portal/ManageMyHealth/Fitness+Assessment
  5. http://www.mealsmatter.org/MealPlanning/MealPlanner/

So as you begin your journey to become a “fit mom”, my prayer is that you reach the goal that you envision for yourself. The fact that you’ve already made the decision to become “fit” has given you victory in 50% of this battle. So check in from time to time, I’d love to hear how you’re doing. And remember, your journey is your journey. So don’t worry if your not the fastest or the strongest, with time this will soon change. You’ve already shown your strength for caring and nurturing others, now its time to benefit from that same gift…you are worth it!

Yours in Health & Fitness,

Shan

Leave a Reply

