Merry Christmas and HAPPY New You!

Good Evening F2BaM!

I pray that your day was filled with love, joy, laughter and peace.

And while it is the day that we celebrate and honor the birth of Jesus Christ, my prayer is that you keep Him at the center of life, not just today, but everyday as He continues to lead and guide your footsteps.

So after we opened presents, cooked our delicious holiday meal, ate until we were full (no worries, I managed my caloric intake and stayed within my daily goal) and watch a movie or 2; I did manage to sneak in a 4 mile run to kick off the “Twelve Days of Fitness”, a challenge hosted by Catherine Basu of FitArmadilloLLC.blogspot.com.

Starting today and the next 11 days, those participating in the challenge has been encouraged to workout at least 10 minutes per day and blog about it in an effort to encourage others (as well as ourselves) to get and/or stay motivated toward their fitness goals. And let me tell you, with the holidays happening, it is easy to slip back into old habits…or am I just telling on myself;-).

As previously mentioned, I kicked off the challenge off with a 4 mile hilly run in 26 degree temps…YES 26 DEGREES!

image

Most would say, I would never run in temps that low! And though I’m smiling, I too was one of those persons, until I began taking my love for running more seriously.

While I don’t have any health concerns, I am a mother and for those of you with children, you can bear witness to the physical changes that having a child can have on the body. While I’ve tired other cardio exercises, running gives me a sense of freedom and peace that I was unable to achieve through yoga, cycling, kickboxing, etc. Therefore, running is my drug of choice and my primary means toward fitness/weight loss. An activity that I’ve been indulging in for approximately 2 1/2 years.

Hence, my desire to run in sub freezing temps;-). But hey, its not all bad, as long as you have the proper gear and after 2 winters, I’ve gotten this winter weather running down to a science….at least as it relates to myself. And today, I had the opportunity to try out the Under Armour Infrared Thermal Gloves. Lets just say, I’ve finally found the winter gloves of my dreams. My fingers never became cold, even when standing around and taking photos to documents today’s run. As I continued to run, my fingers/hands gradually became warmer, but never overheating, making today’s run a very pleasant. The inside of the glove is lined with fleece, but still has moisture wicking ability. IF running in sub freezing temps, this is a product that I would highly recommend to runners.

 

So as I end this blog, I thank you for taking the time to follow me on this journey, and do pray that I’ve said/done something to help in keeping you stay encouraged on your fitness journey.

All the best,
Fit2BaMom

4 thoughts on “Merry Christmas and HAPPY New You!

  1. Merry Christmas!
    Great job, we’re off to a good start!
    My son-in law is a runner – he’s been working on healing an injury, so has been taking it easy. ‘See you’ tomorrow!

  2. Nice job on day one! I’m jealous of your 4 mile run-I have to baby my ankle after spraining it last month. I live in Houston, TX now, but my parents are still up in CT so I may need to check out those Under Armor gloves in the future! What type of watch do you use? Looks pretty cool 🙂 Hope you and your family had a wonderful Christmas and I look forward to following your blog!

  3. I absolutely love this post, and am proud of you for sticking to your goals!!! I absolutely LOVE running too, I would be so lost if I didn’t run, you are so right, itis freeing. 🙂 Great post!!

Leave a Reply

