Once, Twice, Three Days of Fitness

Hello F2BaM!

Its Friday and day 3 of the “Twelve Days of Fitness” Challenge.

While I had every intention on doing a 45 minute treadmill interval workout, followed by 20 minutes weights, my body was just not having it today. The week finally caught up with me and as much as I dont want to admit it, I needed this rest day to properly recover before engaging in another heavy cardio-weight routine.

Although I “rested” in the sense of no cardio and weights today, I still stayed with the challenge and completed a 15 minute ab workout using the “Sworkit” app and burning approxiamately105 calories. Not bad for a 15 minute workout.

image

The “Sworkit” app can be downloaded for FREE to any Apple or Android Device. Workouts include cardio and strength training (including yoga) , presented in 30 second circuits, so you never get bored.

Short on time, no worries, as you can select to workout at a minimum of 5, 10 or 15 minutes. Have more time, then you have the option of 20, 30 or a 60 minutes workout.

image

In adodition to the still pictures of each exercise/pose, there’s the option of a video view of how the exercise should be performed.

Following each circuit, you will a “bell” at which time the program switches to the next exercise/pose in the sequence. Don’t have a heart rate monitor, no problem, this app, approximates the number of calories burned which can be( along with the type of exercise) integrated into the myfitnesspal app. Talk about a “fitness” assistant…this is where its at;-).

Now that I’m learning to appreciate the use of my own body weight to help improve my strength and endurance, workouts at home are becoming a bit more enjoyable thanks to apps like “Sworkit”. What I like most about this app is that it takes the “excuses” away from exercising. No equipment or gym membership needed. Just you, your app, your time AND your workout can happen anywhere and anytime.

I’m a firm believer that you don’t have to workout long to get results…you just have to make every minute count;-).

Keep up the great work and remember, you are your greatest asset…invest in it!

All the best,

Fit2BaMom, La’Shandra

3 thoughts on “Once, Twice, Three Days of Fitness

  1. Great post! Glad you listened to your body today. It’s so important, but many people don’t do it! I appreciate you sharing your fitness app of choice as well. I haven’t seen it before, but it sounds like an awesome tool 🙂 I’ve tried MANY workouts during my years in the fit biz and am definitely in the best shape when I include shorter interval type workouts. I try to tell my hubby this so I can get him home earlier, but apparently he actually enjoys being at the gym for an hr or more….crazy man! Hope you have a great night and look forward to tomorrow 🙂

  2. I agree with you – increase intensity of the workouts means you don’t have to workout for hours on end to get the results you want. I have never heard of this app – I must go look it up! Great job getting in something when you felt like doing nothing!

Leave a Reply

